By The Blue Butterflies

Being part of Relay allows me to experience dynamic people in my community who devote themselves to supporting cancer research. Each week, we learn that cancer has affected a relative, a friend or a child. My contribution may feel small but it makes me even more sensitive to the ravages of the disease when it strikes a family. This research will help find effective treatments and put a stop to this terrible disease. I am part of the Blue Butterflies team because I lost a brother who had a brain tumor and because I have a friend who has a 5 year old son who has been fighting against cancer for more than a year now. I have a wonderful family and grandchildren that I love and life is so fragile.

–          Jeanne

 

I have been part of the Blue Butterflies team from the very beginning. Cancer affects so many people. We need to combat this terrible disease and I thought if I got involved in Relay For Life, at least I could give my time to the cause. I love to see people gathering at Relay. It touches me so much to see all the people who attend and who fight hard against this terrible disease. Giving my time is nothing compared to the suffering of those fighting cancer everyday. It makes me feel good to do my small part to help support cancer research.

–          Edith

 

In 2011, I received the difficult news that my dad, at the age of only 54 years, was diagnosed with prostate cancer. Only one month later, he had surgery. My dad was someone who worked hard and never took enough time for himself. During the 8 weeks after his operation, he had plenty of time to think and realize how short life can be and how important it is to enjoy it.

In 2013, cancer touched our family again – this time it was my mom who was diagnosed with bowel cancer. Again, the treatment was quick- only one month after diagnosis, she had her operation. After being moral support to my dad during his cancer experience, now she needed support.

Today, I can say that in our even with these challenges, my family is doing well. We are confident that both my parents will remain cancer-free. A few years ago, when I got the invitation to join the Blue Butterflies team, I accepted without hesitation.  I hope with all my heart that the work all the Relay teams will mean that one day we will not have to fear this disease!

–          Stephanie

