Social media can be an extremely effective tool in promoting your participation in Relay For Life and gaining support from your network of friends and followers.

Here are some creative examples of the kinds of Facebook posts and Tweets you can use when asking your network for donations.

Use Humour

For Facebook

  • Saving up for that big, extravagant summer vacation? How about donating a portion of that hard earned cash and support me in Relay For Life? (insert link to fundraising page)
  • Don’t know what to do with all that money just sitting aimlessly in your bank account? Life is rough!  Pledge me $20 in support of Relay For Life! #fightback (insert link to fundraising page)
  • Talking about supporting Relay For Life this year? As Elvis would say, “A little less conversation a little more action please!” Don’t mess with the king–pledge me $20 and you’ll be doing wonders for cancer research! (insert link to fundraising page)

For Twitter

  • Have your eye on that new designer purse? It looks pretty but pledging me $20 for Relay For Life is much more in style! #priorities (insert link to fundraising page)
  • It’s Friday and I just got paid! If YOU just got paid, you should probably pledge me $20 for Relay! #byebyecancer (insert link to fundraising page)
  • On Twitter at the office because you’re bored? Brighten up your day by supporting me at Relay For Life!#byebyeboredom #hellocancerfighter (insert link to fundraising page)

Use a Challenge

For Facebook

  • Remember in university when we could stay up all night? I’ll be reliving those days at Relay For Life! Pledge me $20 to support this important cause! #goodoldays #fightback (insert link to fundraising page)
  • This year my family and I will be participating in Relay For Life.  Please support us in our goal of staying up for 12 straight hours and donate to the cause! Your efforts will fund life-saving cancer research! (insert link to fundraising page)
  • If my grandma and grandpa can stay up all night long walking around the track at Relay For Life, I have faith you can pledge me $20 for this important cause! #grandparentsrock #WhyIRelay (insert link to fundraising page)

For Twitter

  • If a mom of 3 can stay up for 12 hours to fight back against cancer, surely you can fight cancer by pledging me $20? [insert link to fundraising page here]
  • Another sleepless night? I know the feeling! Make a difference and pledge me to stay up all night at Relay! Better than counting sheep… (insert link to fundraising page)
  • Nothing better than a good night’s rest! Or is there? Help fight cancer by pledging me to stay up all night at Relay! (insert link to fundraising page)

Use the Mission

For Facebook

  • Have you ever gotten home from a bar feeling happy you don’t smell like smoke? That’s because donations like yours help fund advocacy efforts that change laws. It’s illegal to smoke almost everywhere now, tanning beds are being banned for youth, and cosmetic pesticides are out of our gardens. Help the Canadian Cancer Society do more. Pledge me at Relay For Life. (insert link to fundraising page here)
  • Schools have slowly begun to remove junk foods from their cafeterias and vending machines, replacing them with healthier options. With donations like yours, we can continue to advocate for healthy eating initiatives and programs! (insert link to fundraising page)

For Twitter

  • Did you know it’s still legal to smoke on patios in some places? Pledge me to help fund advocacy initiatives that enable change!  (insert link to fundraising page)
  • Research shows that a balanced diet & exercise can prevent many types of cancer. Support me & help stop cancer before it starts! (insert link to fundraising page)
