Margaret Cadman’s journey with cancer began in 2004 when her husband Art was diagnosed with colon cancer. At first, Art wanted to maintain his independence and drove himself to treatment but, eventually, he had no choice and Margaret took on the driving.  Sadly, Art died five years after his diagnosis.

Almost a year later, Margaret lost her son-in-law, Joe, to lung cancer and then, she was faced with fighting her own cancer battle. At the age of 66, Margaret was diagnosed with breast cancer and, one year later, an ongoing stomach ache revealed she had stomach cancer. Throughout her battle with cancer, Margaret relied on the Canadian Cancer Society’s Wheels of Hope transportation service to get to treatment appointments.

“When the second diagnosis came in, I refused to believe it. I couldn’t believe cancer struck again,” says Margaret.

Shortly after Art’s cancer diagnosis, Margaret and her husband started participating in Relay For Life and continues to do so in memory of Art and Joe.

“I’ve walked the Survivors’ Lap seven times now, and I plan to make that many more,” says Margaret. “I also volunteer during the event. I like to get involved in Relay any way I can and give back to the organization that helped me during my most difficult years,” adds Margaret.

Margaret also volunteers during Daffodil Month by selling daffodil pins to give back to the organization that helped her during her cancer journey and support others who are currently fighting cancer.

“As my husband always said, if it helps one person, it’s worth it,” says Margaret, staying true to her husband’s words.

