Three of the members of our Ambassador Team, the Blue Butterflies, share their personal “Why I Relay” stories.

“Why I Relay”
By Vickie

We believe in the miracle of The Blue Butterflies! 

DSCN5039

My husband and I have been part of Relay For Life for seven years.  He is a cancer survivor.  Although many years ago, I lost my grandfather to cancer, for a long time I never thought of the disease. Then, all of a sudden, that changed.  In a period of about seven years, I lost my 5-year-old great grandson (my granddaughter’s only child) as well as two sisters-in-law, a brother-in-law and my best friend all to this dreadful disease.

Nobody is safe.  It affects people of all ages and of all walks of life.

Our thoughts are with those now fighting cancer.  My message to them is: you may not think so but there is light at the end of the tunnel.  Please do not give up hope.

All of us must do everything we can to help eradicate this terrible disease. That is why we participate in Relay For Life and encourage others to get involved.  Let’s all work together and get rid of cancer.

“Why I Relay”
By Marie

In 2013, our lives changed dramatically when we learned that our son-in-law was diagnosed with cancer. He is still battling the disease. Physically and emotionally, it is so difficult for parents to see those you love suffer and to be helpless to this terrible disease. We can give them support, but we cannot cure the disease.

When I was asked to be part of The Blue Butterflies team, I enthusiastically said YES. For us, it is another way to show our support. By getting involved and raising funds for research, we are supporting all those who are suffering from this terrible disease.

“Why I Relay”
By Dianne

My family has experienced the loss of two very dear to the people because of cancer.  My father died of brain cancer 26 years ago. At that time, there was not a lot of treatment to overcome cancer. Then, a few years ago, I also lost my brother to the same cancer. With treatment, his life was prolonged by two years. That same year, I joined The Blue Butterflies team. I realized the importance of getting involved and helping to raise funds to help combat this terrible disease. I see a lot progress thanks to research and more people are surviving this disease. My involvement brings me great personal satisfaction and pride to make my small contribution.

