Thanksgiving is quickly approaching and it brings to mind some of the big family dinners we shared in the past. Like most families turkey was the focus of our dinners but we also had; ham (my dad’s favourite), brussels sprouts (my least favourite), roasted potatoes, cranberry sauce, stuffing, tossed salad, gravy, dinner rolls and pie.

 My grandma would make the majority of the dishes but my dad always made the roasted potatoes. To be honest, I never really saw the appeal of the potatoes. My dad is a great cook, his western omelet is a breakfast of beauty, but the roasted potatoes tasted just like any other roast potatoes to me. I was certainly in the minority with that opinion though as the mere mention that there might not be roasted potatoes one year nearly caused a family feud.

 One year, my grandma nearly caused a riot by adding prunes to the stuffing. My brother still talks about it with a slight hint of puzzlement and sadness in his voice. 

 My favourite was always the pie. My grandma’s backyard, to my six year old eyes, was the biggest farm I had ever seen. She grew, among all the vegetables, strawberries and rhubarb and made the best strawberry rhubarb pie ever.

 As the years passed and my grandma and mom passed away from cancer the thanksgiving dinners got smaller and while we miss grandma and mom we still have a lot to be thankful for. My dad still makes the roast potatoes and never again were there prunes in the stuffing.

