My name is Lucy Chang. Born and raised in Toronto, I am an elementary school teacher who has just completed what may be the longest maternity leave in history (5.5 years)! I have been busy raising my three boys – ages 5.5, 4 and 2.5 years old. When I am not tied up with my own little Relay team, I fill my “free” time with ball hockey and volunteering for the Canadian Cancer Society.

I participated in my first Relay For Life in 2000 in Kitchener-Waterloo. I was so moved by the entire experience, I knew I had to be a part of the planning process when Relay made its way to Toronto the next year. I haven’t looked back.

I love every aspect of Relay as I believe there is a place for everyone, whether you are a Survivor, a Caregiver or a person who just wants to do their part in the eradication of this terrible disease. I began Relaying for my father and friends who have been touched by the disease. Now, I Relay for my children so that one day they can know a world without cancer. My time with Relay and the Canadian Cancer Society continues to be one of the most rewarding experiences of my life! Go Relay!

